Other SportsSports

19th Straight win for ICSK

KUWAIT: 24th CBSE Kuwait Cluster Athletic Meet, hosted by The Indian Community School – Kuwait, was conducted with great zeal, excitement and enthusiasm at Shaabab Sporting Club, Ahmadi on 13th, 14th & 15th November 2022. More than 1300 athletes from 22 different schools across Kuwait participated in the event.

The opening ceremony commenced with the recitation of Holy Quran by Shifa Mariam followed by the prayer song. This was followed by the Flag Hoisting. The National Flag of Kuwait was hoisted by Mrs. Asha Sharma, Principal of Indian Learners Own Academy and T Premkumar, Principal of Indian Educational School. The National Flag of India was hoisted by Dr Anis Ahmed, Principal of Salmiya Indian Model School and Dr AchuthanMadhav, Principal of Jabriya Indian School.

The crowd stood in attention position when the national anthems of Kuwait and India were sung. The CBSE flag was hoisted by Dr V Binumon, Principal and Senior Administrator of ICSK. It was indeed honorable to behold the March Past which included all the participating schools and the school band of ICSK. RinkleKalpesh administered the oath taking ceremony. Dr V Binumon, Principal and Senior Administrator of ICSK delivered the welcome address.

T Premkumar, Principal of Indian Educational School and Dr V Binumon, Principal and Senior Administrator of ICSK, inaugurated the meet by releasing the balloons. The Indian Community School, Kuwait were the overall champions in the CBSE Kuwait Cluster Athletic Meet for the record 19thstraight year with a lead score of 341 points.

The second position was secured by United Indian School with 307 points and the third position was won by Fahaheel Al Wataniya Indian Private School with 247 points. ICSK bagged the Championships in Under 14 Boys Category, Under 17 Boys Category and Under 17 Girls Category. Master Anand Arjun of Class 8 for Under 14 boys, Master Mohamed Sheeraz of Class 10 for Under 17 boys and Miss Saniya Shajanof Class 10 for Under 17 girls won the prestigious individual championships.

ICSK secured 13 Gold Medals, 19 Silver Medals and 12 Bronze Medals. We emerged victorious with the sheer commitment of the students along with the sincere efforts of the physical education teachers and supporting staff. The board of trustees, principals, vice principals and staff of ICSK family congratulated the athletes and appreciated the efforts of the physical education teachers and the supporting staff, who worked vehemently for bringing this laurel to the school.

The closing ceremony was conducted on 15th November 2022. Maria Christy, Principal of Carmel School, delivered the welcome address. The prizes for the winners were distributed by the principals of different schools. Dr V Binumon, Principal and Senior Administrator of ICSK said the felicitation speech and also gave away the trophies for the overall winners.

Dr PrashanthVasudev, Principal of Gulf Indian School, delivered the vote of thanks. After the national anthem, the flags were lowered and were handed over to Dr Murugaiyan, Observer and HOD of Physical Education at Indian Educational School. Every championship victory has been an inspiration and the quest for the next one never stops.

Back to top button