KuwaitPoliticsTop Stories

37 lawmakers back Humaidi as next Assembly speaker

KUWAIT: Newly-elected lawmakers meet at opposition MP Abdulkarim Al-Kandari’s house yesterday. – Photo by Yasser Al-Zayyat

By B Izzak

KUWAIT: As many as 37 newly-elected lawmakers agreed at a meeting yesterday to vote for MP Bader Al-Humaidi as the next Assembly speaker, which is more than the required number to elect the new head of parliament. Opposition MP Abdulkarim Al-Kandari, host of the second meeting of new lawmakers, said MPs will announce on their Twitter accounts their pledges to vote for Humaidi, a former Cabinet minister.

If all lawmakers comply with their pledges, MP Marzouq Al-Ghanem, speaker since 2013, will not be re-elected even if the 16-member Cabinet decides to vote for him. There has been no comment by Ghanem since he retained his seat in the Assembly from the second constituency.

Following the meeting, a large number of MPs made the pledges on their Twitter accounts. MP Bader Al-Dahoum said MPs will hold a third meeting in Jahra on Saturday to agree on electing a deputy speaker. The meeting will also focus on setting priority issues for the next Assembly.

Opposition MP Thamer Al-Suwait said after the meeting the message which must reach authorities is that “the people do not want Marzouq Al-Ghanem as the speaker of the Assembly”. He also called on the prime minister to “read the events carefully after the agreement on Humaidi”.

Leading opposition MP Shuaib Al-Muwaizri said he will vote for Humaidi as the next speaker, adding that the next Cabinet must not include what he called ministers who stir problems. MP Bader Al-Mulla said the agreement on a new candidate for speaker is the translation of the outcome of the elections.

Opposition MP Hasan Jowhar stressed on the need to reform the Assembly speakership in order to achieve national reconciliation and tackle corruption issues. He declared his support for Humaidi. The unanimous selection of Humaidi comes after his only competitor – MP Mohammad Al-Mutair – withdrew from the race on Tuesday.

Back to top button