6th time in a row for IBAK All Stars

By Sajeev K Peter

KUWAIT: The Indian Badminton Association Kuwait (IBAK) successfully conducted the 7th edition of Kuwait Badminton Challenge (KBC) 2022 at its Salwa Gym between the 6th and 8th of October. The event witnessed participation by players from countries like Indonesia, Malaysia, India and neighboring GCC countries. The crowning jewel, IBAK All Stars lifted the title team event trophy for the sixth time in a row.

The tournament was inaugurated on the 6th of October, 2022 by Kamal Singh Rathore, First Secretary of Indian Embassy, Kuwait. The three-day thrilling event saw the clash of many young talents and veterans alike. The audience turnout and their constant cheering added further brilliance to the mood in the arena.

The key highlights of the event were tunnel entry for players and match officials (in-line with BWF standards), electronic umpiring system (first-ever to be introduced using tablet devices as a replacement to regular score sheet system followed in Kuwait), dedicated player area for resting and nourishments) and dedicated galleries for audience, VIPs and officials. Winners of team event and open categories were awarded with prize money, trophies, medals and mascots.

IBAK Chairman Dr Manimara Chozhan reminded everyone present about the upcoming KDD – Kuwait League (KBL) which is next in the line-up of events hosted by IBAK. This highly anticipated event is scheduled to be held in the month of November 2022. IBAK President Anesh Mathew, General Secretary Ajay Vasudevan and Tournament Director Subin Varghese along with all the directors and secretaries worked towards making the event successful. In the team event category, IBAK All Stars won and the IBAK Challengers are the runner up.

Open events; Under 17 Girls Doubles: Winners are Amrita Anaikumar and Anjana Sajeev and runners up are Zoya Ismail and Nikita Rebello. Under 17 Boys Doubles; Winner are Varad Bhaskar and Edwin Bobby and the runners up are Roland Allen and Avaneeshwar Veeraprathapan.

Under 17 Girls Singles: The winner is Neha Susan Biju and the runner up is Anjana Sajeev. Under 17 Boys Singles: Winner-Dhruva Bhardwaj and runner up is Rohan Vagvala. Under 19 Boys Doubles: Winners are Dhruva Bhardwaj and Aiden Mathew while the runners up are Surya Manoj and Eric Thomas. Under 19 Girls Singles, the winner is Neha Susan Biju and the runner up is Kamalini Ramesh. Under 19 Boys Singles, winner is the Dhruva Bhardwaj and the runner up is Ebin Shijo Paul.


Back to top button