Other SportsSports

Ilayaraja claims singles title – Aneef, Bastian lifts double crown in 6th IBAK-Pizzahut Master’s Cup

KUWAIT: The 6th IBAK – Pizzahut Master’s Cup was held on February 23 and 24 at IBAK Gym, Salwa. Master’s Cup is the most prestigious of domestic badminton tournaments in Kuwait. Over 200 players from over 10 different nationalities participated in this year’s edition. Over a hundred volunteers and six hundred spectators made this event a grand success.
The event was inaugurated by Ms Yasmin, Marketing manager Pizza Hut, in the presence of Dr Manimara Chozhan, Chairman IBAK, KT Chandrahas, General Secretary IBAK, Saravanan, Tournament Director, Prasad Thandassery, Joint Tournament Director and Ms Aisha, Assistant Marketing Manager Pizzahut.

The qualifying  and preliminary league round robin started on the 23rd and the finals were played on the 24th. This year’s Masters Cup saw fierce competition and sprung out several surprise finalists.

This year’s Master’s Cup was played in five categories .
1. Flight 1 doubles – Professional
2. Flight 2 doubles- Advanced
3. Flight 3 doubles- Intermediate
4. Flight 4 doubles- Lower intermediate level
5. Open Singles


Flight 4 – Open Doubles Lower Intermediate
Winner    Carandang, Jimmy+Julius, Marc
Runner up    Abhilash, Ajay+Kumar, Karthik
Semifinalist    Sumesh, Addison+Sumesh, Arden Paul
Semifinalist    Balasubramaniyam, Parthasarthy+Parthasarthy, Jayanth
Flight 3 – Open Doubles Intermediate
Winner    Bancud, Melvin+Rivera, Ryan
Runner up    Dinesh Ram+Kunnil, Thomas J
Semifinalist    Ramesh, Dhruva+Siraj, Adnan
Semifinalist    Behnan, Pradeep+Malayil, Shibu

Flight 2 – Mens Doubles Advance
Winner    Joy, Subin K+Varghees, Subin
Runner up    Aktar, Arif Sayed+Singh, Vikas
Semifinalist    Mathew, Joby+Punnackal, Sajeev
Semifinalist    Chandran, Sayju+Rawat, Anikit

Flight 1- Mens Doubles Professional
Winner    James, Bastian+Latheef, Aneef  K
Runner up    Ajayakumar, Sayooj+Paul, Sanil
Semifinalist    Farooqi, Abdul Jabbar+Kalliparambil, Badar
Semifinalist    Putra, Gede+Rezka, Nanang

Winner     Ilayaraja
Runner up    Kalliparambil, Badar
Semifinalist    Farooqi, Abdul Jabbar
Semifinalist    James, Bastian
The prizes were given away by the Executive committee members of IBAK.

Back to top button