Other SportsSports

Kuwait ready for 20th Junior Water Polo Championship

KUWAIT: Kuwait’s Junior Water Polo team continues its training for the 20th FINA World Men’s Junior Water Polo Championship, hosted by Kuwait starting tomorrow and will continue until Dec 20 at Sheikh Nasser Al-Mohammad Olympic swimming pools complex under the patronage of National Assembly Speaker Marzouq Al-Ghanem.

Assistant coach Khalid Al-Shawaf said players began their training early due to the strong teams participating. He said the national team held a training camp in Hungary, for a month, then continued its training here in Kuwait.

Al-Shawaf said the championship represents on opportunity for the current players to gain experience through competing with distinguished players of high standards. Team captain Abdallah Murad said players are together since May, and are enthusiastic towards showing an outstanding performance during the championship.

Meanwhile, player Abdallah Al-Hammad said all players exerted their utmost during the preparation period under the watchful eye of their Greek coach Marcos and his assistance Al-Shawaf.

Meanwhile, FINA bureau will hold a meeting today at Crowne Plaza hotel, on the sidelines of the 20th FINA World Men’s Junior Water Polo Championship, which will start tomorrow at Sheikh Nasser Al-Mohammad Olympic swimming pools complex of Al-Nasr sports club.

This meeting proceeds a meeting of FINA board, and it will make recommendations and proposals for the 25 member board, which has the authority to make official decisions.

Among the important items on the agenda is to make a new plan to develop water games and swimming, also to prepare a schedule for the upcoming championships, that in addition to having standards for the game during the Tokyo 2020 Olympics and approve those who qualify.

The bureau is made of nine member including FINA president Dr Julio C Maglione from Uruguay, first Vice-president Husain Al-Musalla from Kuwait, second Vice-president Sam Ramsamy, Vice-president Paolo Barelli from Italy, Vice-president Matthew Dun from Australia, Vice-president Date Neuburger, Pipat Paniangvait, Treasurer from Thailand, member Tamas Gyarfas from Hungary and Executive Director Cornel Marculescu from Switzerland.

By Abdellatif Sharaa

Back to top button